top of page

“Time is an illusion”

There are 8765.81278 hours in a year

There are 525948.767 minutes in a year

There are 31556926 seconds in a year

This is the constructed illusion of time that we exist in and live our lives and in this time pertains the notion of past, present, and the future. Within such blocks of time, memories, existence, and desires become entangle with one another and where each experience shapes and molds the next.

Memories:

~ The sweet and strong aroma of Jasmines that lingered in the air in my childhood home.

~ When my father would surprise me with the yellow and blue blag that carried my favorite chips and my favorite soda.

~ The moment I found out I would be a big sister to a sweet and pure little girl that my family and I have been praying for.

~ The excitement of achieving my dreams and goals.

~ Those seconds of pure joy that all I could do was laugh and laugh until I was out of breath and tears of happiness would be streaming down my face.

Present:

~ Finding the right words to say to share with you all.

~ Hearing the chatter and footsteps in the narrow hall that I am sitting in.

~ Knowing all that I must do....where's that planner???

Future:

~ Who am I to say what the future holds since change is constant? I have no idea where I will be five years from now, although I do have dreams that I strive for. But I wake up every morning with the stern decision to enjoy my day and to somehow paint a smile on another's face. Of course there will be obstacles and a few gray clouds here and there, but I make an effort to see those things with a filter of "What can this do to me?" "Is it worth worrying about?" "How is this molding my future character?" One thing is certain about my future though: God holds my tomorrow and because of that piece of knowledge I like what my future holds.

Therefore, although "time doesn't exist (clocks exist) and time is just an agreed upon construct that has been divided up into segments and those segments are given labels," time as Cecilia Ahern says is "more precious than gold, more precious than diamonds, more precious than oil or any valuable treasures."


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page